4 Effective Ways To Love Yourself

4Image

For the List Post challenge I chose to go with a list of self care practices. It might seem like common sense but so many of miss out on opportunities to take care of ourselves. Throughout my graduate social work program we  were constantly reminded of burnout because of the demanding, exhausting challenges of being in the social work field. If you are not taking care yourself you cannot take care of anyone else. I believe no matter what and who you are, can benefit from self care.

EXERCISE: I know most people have very demanding schedules and taking time for exercise can feel like a minimal task on your long list of to-dos but in actuality it can be life saving and well worth the time you carved to do it. Most people know 30 minutes a day keeps the Dr. away but I would suggest even 15 minutes a day will work just as good. I would also suggest finding an exercise you enjoy like zumba, pilates, or yoga. All of which you can do in the comfort of your own home with the assistance of a youtube search.

HOBBIES: I personally searched high and low for a hobby I could do with spending little to no money, guess what was on the top of my list? If you guessed blogging, you guessed right. You can easily sign up for a free blogging site and write till your hearts content.  You even have the options of turning your blog into a business, way cool right. The creative freedom involved will make you feel good about yourself. If writing is not your forte do a quick google search and I promise you will find something that will tickle your fancy.

COOKING: I am not the best cook in the world but preparing a meal for yourself or friends and family can be quite soothing and satisfying. Tex-Mex happens to be one of my  favorite types of food. One I find to be the most easiest to prepare. You can get super creative with a tostada shell and the outcome will look like a chef’s delight.

HOT BUBBLE BATHS: Who doesn’t love them. Not only do they relieve stress but you can also detoxify your skin. The renewed sense of refreshment will have you walking on cloud nine. I prefer mine with soft music, candles and a glass of wine.

I could go on and on but I think you get the point. Find some time to carve out moments of self care. Loving on yourself like no one else , is the best GIFT you can give yourself.

4 thoughts on “4 Effective Ways To Love Yourself

  1. I’ve really noticed a huge change in my self care when I began to cook for myself. That was something that I really wasn’t doing for myself. I’ve been eating a lot healthier and trying to get some exercise in since I spend so much time behind a desk.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

