My Story

What’s up good people? One night I was sitting on my couch zoned out possibly listening to the Jill Scott when it hit me. My fabulous friends and I s should start a blog about what it means to be   neo soul so here it is.

 Who am I you ask?

 I am A. Buttafly aka Yonnie aka Ayana(beautiful flower). My journey from a permed worm to a natural buttafly is one that I am gratefully appreciative of.  Growing up like most black women I had no idea there could be a world without a perm. I also love how neo soul incorporates   natural hair and how natural hair inspires fashion. I am not an expert on hair, music, or hair but have an immense passion for it.  

I’m also an MSW who cares a great deal about people in general. I like to advocate for the rights of others and empower those who may have difficulty viewing themselves in the shining light everyone deserves.

My father was in the military so I was born in Madrid, Spain, and raised in Utah, Texas and now fully reside in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area.

I have one brother and two parents who have been married for 42 years.

My hope is to one day have a mentoring non-profit geared towards building self esteem for young girls.

So please sit back and enjoy the ride of my random rants, and insightful musings.

  I will be sharing with you my opinions, thoughts, and random rants.  So get comfy and enjoy ride.  

2 thoughts on “My Story

Leave a Reply

